6 Things That Bring Me Joy

There is a man running for president who makes me angry, scared, and sad. Lately, I’ve let myself fall down the rabbit hole of reading news stories and watching videos that only amplify these feelings. It’s important because I want to be informed, but it’s also draining. Never in my almost 33 years on Earth have I been so aware of how many people in America feel such hate for others. So today, I’m writing about things that bring me joy. Because sometimes you have to push those other feelings to the side and focus on whatever makes you happy.

My membership in the New York Junior League. I love the weekly volunteer work I do with the NYJL, but this week I’m even more grateful to be a member of an organization that is constantly offering me opportunities to volunteer my time and help make my community a better place. When I woke up on Friday morning I decided that the best thing I could do in opposition to you-know-who (other than donate to Hillary’s campaign and vote for her) is to use my time to put good back into the world. So I logged onto our member website and easily signed up to volunteer in a soup kitchen next week.

younger

Bingeing TV shows that make me laugh. I love a good drama, but right now what I really need are laughs. Lots of them. My current obsessions? Superstore (it’s like The Office set in a Walmart!), Blackish (the Johnsons have replaced the Pritchett/Tucker/Dunphys as my favorite family on television!), and Younger (a hilarious depiction of the publishing industry that I just started watching two weeks ago—I binged seasons 1 and 2 in 4 days!—and has quickly become my favorite show on TV right now!)

img_4801

Eating for the Instagram. This is just about the silliest and most fun reason to try a new restaurant. Who doesn’t want to eat (and post about!) a star shaped pizza? Though I do draw the line at rainbow bagels. They’re gorgeous, but my sister has confirmed that they taste like chemicals. 

Doing laundry. No, you didn’t read that incorrectly. And yes, you’re still reading the same list about joy. I procrastinate laundry as long as I can. (This is not an exaggeration. Yesterday I seriously questioned whether bathing suit bottoms were an appropriate substitute for underwear.) But I love how productive I feel when I finally do 4 loads of laundry and suddenly all of my clothes are clean and nicely folded and organized again. It’s this really easy way to feel like I had a super productive weekend…even though I spent the majority of my time watching Netflix.

fall

Doing really #basic fall activities. And not caring at all that they are #basic. Because usually things are popular because they are awesome (or really well marketed, but let’s just ignore that for a second). I can’t wait to go apple picking with my friends this weekend and check out the jack-o-lanterns at The Blaze next week. Bring on the flannel shirts, cider donuts, and photos in the pumpkin patch.

The fact that I get to vote for Hillary Clinton. I am so excited to vote for such a qualified candidate. A person I would vote for even if she wasn’t running against the aforementioned man. A person I would vote for even if she wasn’t a woman. But the fact that she is? Well that’s just icing on the cake.

What brings you joy?

One Comment Add yours

  1. Bec says:

    Great post. As a non American looking in, the rest of the world is holding its breath waiting for you guys to make the right, rational decision! Glad to read you feel the same 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

