#Adulting Is Just Pissing Off Your Eight-Year-Old Self

Yesterday I read this article. I will sum it up for you as: the writer doesn’t think #adulting is funny. Well, actually, she thinks it’s funny on TV, but not in real life. And I beg to differ. I don’t think anyone (or at least the majority of us) using #adulting is actually serious about wanting a reward for managing “to complete a basic chore anyone of average competence and circumstances should be able to accomplish without a second thought.” Using the hashtag adulting is more about sharing our collective agreement that being a responsible adult isn’t always fun, but we have to do it anyway so we might as well laugh about it. We don’t need to save those laughs for TV characters. We can share it with our friends and family on social media and laugh with the people we love the most.

(Side note: Being able to laugh about #adulting is a privileged problem and I recognize that. Being an adult is actually difficult if you are having trouble meeting your basic needs and many of your wants. But for right now, I’m talking about the giggle-worthy meme of #adulting.)

The more I think about it, the more I think #adulting is really just about coming to terms with the fact that we are pissing off our child selves. Here’s what I mean:

img_3718
Yes, this snapchat is from yesterday after I read this article.

Form of adulting: eating a healthy meal. So why do I deserve an emoji trophy for eating a salad? Because when you are a kid, you dream about the day when you can eat ice cream for dinner or binge on more cookie dough than a responsible adult would deem safe. (Side note: Moms are liars! I’ve eaten SO much cookie dough as an adult and I have yet to get salmonella.) Eating a salad is against everything eight-year-old me believes in. Eight-year-old me is so disappointed in my responsible decision that I have to balance it out by sharing my #adulting with other responsible adults.

IMG_2339

Form of adulting: a smart (but small) money decision. Like not buying these hedgehog salt and pepper shakers in my I Stuck to My List at Target post. Because Target is a wonderland of things I do not need. And as a kid, going to a store like Target resulted in me begging for ALL the things. So eight-year-old me (we’re just going to use her for everything. 2nd grade was a good year) could not wait to be an adult who could make the purchasing decisions. She was the girl who planned to decorate her whole home (inside and out) with Christmas lights, paint her ceiling blue with white puffy clouds, and own every single Mary-Kate and Ashely branded item the retail world could dream up. So yeah, I guess that Target blog post was a plea for a “good job” from other adults when what I should have been writing was a letter of apology to eight-year-old me.

2016-09-19-22-26-21
Eight-year-old me might be mad that I dust this bookshelf, but surely she appreciates the book selection and the toy on it!

Form of adulting: cleaning. Cleaning is not fun and while my mom was wonderfully tolerant of a little messiness (which encourages creative play, go mom!) I distinctly remember times when the mess would get out of control—particularly in the family room. And my kind, sweet mother would take out a hefty bag and say, “Anything that is still on the floor in ten minutes is going in the garbage.” And then we would run around like panicked little hoarders gathering our toys and taking them upstairs (to hide in our messy closets). At some point eight-year-old me announced that when she had her own house, it would always be messy. Turns out that’s not really how most adults want to live. So I have to clean sometimes. And eight-year-old me shakes her head as I dust my bookshelves wondering why those books aren’t just strewn all over the floor!

Now that we’ve pissed off our eight-year-old selves, we also need to apologize to them every once in a while. I think I’ll tackle that in a post tomorrow about #kidding! But first, tell me:

How do you #adult?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. fmtcd says:

    My best friend and I discussed HSAs over brunch once. We have reached peak #adulting. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hear you! I took a beach vacation with friends and we talked about 401ks, life insurance, and politics. Too much #adulting!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m having a very hard time coming up with answers to the question of how I adult… Which leads me to the conclusion that I either do it all the time or never. Probably the former… I am spending today catching up on work, and I’ve already exercised and ate a peach, despite visiting my parents, the perfect excuse to regress into childhood behavior…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

