Pumpkin Spice Cheerios: A Review

It’s that time again: pumpkin spice season! And as far as I can tell, the most anticipated new product of the Fall is Pumpkin Spice Cheerios. So naturally, I needed to try them. Now let’s just have a quick discussion about my love of pumpkin before we get started.

I am very much a #basic white girl. I love fall. I love plaid shirts, scarves, layers, pictures in pumpkin patches, Starbucks, etc. But I actually don’t love pumpkin spice products. I’ve never had a Pumpkin Spice Latte (gasp!). I just haven’t really jumped on the pumpkin spice flavored bandwagon. I prefer real pumpkin. My favorite recipes for the fall (and really all year round) are Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Overnight Oats or October Oatmeal Pumpkin Muffins (I usually add either chocolate chips or craisins to this one) or for a more savory option, these Pumpkin Quesadillas.
But I’ve been seeing the Cheerios everywhere so I decided to buy a box while I was up at my parents’ lake house and see what all the fuss was about.

IMG_3434

My sister and I purchased the box at Target so naturally, being the #basic white girls that we are, we also had to get these shirts:

IMG_3424
You had me at pumpkin spice!

And then it was time for the taste test to commence. First we tried the cereal dry. To me, it tasted like Honey Nut Cheerios (my Cheerio flavor of choice!) with maybe a little extra cinnamon. I tried a second dry taste and still I couldn’t find the pumpkin. Luckily, I had a panel of tasters available to help give them a more thorough review:

Sister: “I taste a little pumpkin pie.”

Mom: “I could taste the pumpkin pie spice, but I would have preferred tasting pumpkin instead of just the spice.”

My sister’s boyfriend was a good sport and took the first spoonful once we added milk:

IMG_3438

His review: “They were delightful.”

Then it was my turn to try them with milk. I went for a huge bite. Surely that would make me notice the pumpkin-y, spicy flavor, right?

IMG_3444

Not really. They’re not bad. They just don’t really taste like pumpkin to me. But I guess I can’t say for sure whether they taste like “pumpkin spice.” Because I haven’t really gone down the rabbit hole of pumpkin spice flavored products. But one member of the family did think they were lick-your-lips delicious:

IMG_3466

9 Comments Add yours

  1. kraewrites says:

    I’ve never had a pumpkin spice latte either… but I’m guessing I’d need to have a taste for coffee to enjoy such a thing. And I need that shirt! Going to Target ASAP!

    Like

    1. Yes! Love Target t-shirts! I always want them ALL!

      Like

  2. HermitCrab says:

    Yum! CHEERIOS ARE THE BEST. I’ll give those a try if I see them around…also gotta bake some pumpkin oatmeal muffins…

    Cheers

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hehe 🙂 love the shirts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

