The Struggle Is (Not) Real

When I saw that today’s prompt was Struggle, the first thing I thought was: The struggle is real. It’s become a bit of a mantra for the millennial generation. And it’s hilarious. I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve failed at something and said “oh man, I’m riding the struggle bus to struggle city!” This instagram post of my sister’s shows just how often I ride the struggle bus. I mean, honestly, why is my hair so chaotic and hers is fine?

2016-06-14 21.52.18

So I saw the prompt, but I didn’t have time to ponder it right away. I was busy getting ready for work and then remembering that I needed to try on my bridesmaid dress for my brother’s wedding. It was back from the tailor and I needed to confirm everything was all set….

And I couldn’t get it zipped. Talk about Struggle City! I was officially the mayor. So I texted my sister who said “mine was really tight too, but I got it zipped with help.” I convinced her to come over and help me before we went back to the tailor (her dress still needed more alterations). Turns out, she couldn’t even zip it for me. The belt we had the tailor add had been sewn on too tight. So back to the tailor we went. I explained the problem and she said “no, I didn’t touch the zipper.” So I put on the dress to show her. And what does she say to me?

“You gained weight.”

UM…you have had the dress for two weeks! And while it is possible that I have gained weight in that time…I mean, it’s summer. My brain and my stomach are in this plot against me where they are all “ICE CREAM, ICE CREAM, ICE CREAM” and I indulge them approximately 92% of the time because YOLO. But you can’t gain enough in two weeks to make a dress just NOT fit. So we argue for a bit and finally she cuts out the stitching on the belt and then miraculously, the dress zips again.

And now we have approximately 12 hours for her to fix the belt. So we have a discussion about what she needs to do (which isn’t ideal, but will fix it). And I leave the tailor and head to work (late!) and stub my toe in the subway and I’m just all: THE STRUGGLE IS REAL TODAY.

But then slowly, I get perspective. I think about all of the things that have happened in the world lately and this week specifically. That there are people in this world with hate in their heart and easy access to guns and how that all feels so wrong and unfair and…like real struggles. And I realize:

That the dress will be fine. And the prettiest thing about me this weekend will be the smile on my face as I celebrate the fact that my brother is marrying the woman he loves. And the smile on my face as I welcome a new sister into my family. And the smile on my face as I celebrate love with my family and friends. And I remember two things:

My struggle is not real.

And you’re never fully dressed without a smile!

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lindsay says:

    My bridesmaids dress for my brother first wedding was so big we took it in as much as we could and then had to sew it to my bra! Have a great time at the wedding!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hah! I’m at the point where I wonder if I need them to sew the belt on when I’m already in the dress! We’ll see…

      Like

Leave a Reply

