5 Things I Learned at Painting Lounge

One of my favorite things about the concept for this blog is that I get to send emails and texts that say “I found a fun thing, do you want to do it with me?” and see how quickly people say, “Yes!” I had seen friends in other cities do wine and paint nights, so I did some googling and found Painting Lounge and then convinced four friends to join me.

Here’s what I learned.

  1. We are all very Type A. Technically I already knew this, but it was extra pronounced (and hilarious) in this setting. The teacher was all “I don’t want to cramp your style, be creative.” and our group was firmly in the “No, no, I’ll just follow the rules, thank you very much.” camp. My Type A, rule-following little brain was challenged right at the start when I had a drip situation going on between what would eventually become my moon and my star. But luckily, my friend Jen assured me that I’d be painting over it anyway. Crisis Averted.  2016-06-04 17.28.08
  2. You have to trust the process. This class is actually kind of great for rule followers because the teacher carefully walks you through each stage of the painting. But at some point, you’re staring at the canvas and thinking “REALLY? Those random paint spots that look like mistakes are going to become a masterpiece? 2016-06-04 18.02.47
  3. If you find yourself not trusting the process, drink more wine. There was a direct correlation between how confident I felt about my “randomly spaced dotted lines of color” and the amount of rosé I had consumed. 2016-06-04 18.32.24
  4. I am an approval junkie. I know, I know, this isn’t new information. I blogged about it here. But when the teacher came by to say “you have a really nice focal point” about one of my swirls, my little heart swelled with pride. Even though I was supposed to be there to have fun, I still wanted to win/get an A+/be the best. Yeah, I have a problem. I don’t necessarily think this finished product is A+ material, but the amount of fun I had making it definitely pushes it into #winning territory! 2016-06-04 19.03.44
  5. My friends and I are all the same. The teacher who took this picture said, “Your paintings look pretty similar. You all do the same job, don’t you?” Yup, we all work in publishing. We’re creative Mon-Fri from 9-5, but put us in a studio and a little bit out of our element on a Saturday night and we’re going to listen to the teacher and follow her instructions to the best of our ability. I’m sure Van Gogh would be proud.

2016-06-04 19.23.34

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

