Three Day Weekend= Automatic Routine Maintenance

If you (are lucky enough to) work a Monday-Friday, 9-5 job like I do, a three day weekend is sort of like the universe forcing some routine maintenance on you. It’s an automatic step outside your regular schedule. Which is awesome! Technically I stayed in my normal routine of heading up to my parents’ house in the finger lakes because that’s what I do every holiday weekend in the summer. But for Memorial Day weekend, it still feels like it’s out of my routine because it’s the first summer weekend.

In an effort to continue my quest for breaking up my norm, I started Saturday with a hike (instead of just going straight to the dock to read my book all day as I usually do). Of course when my dad heard I was heading to the park he said “don’t go into the woods up there, people get lost!” To which I replied, “that is exactly my plan.” I may be in my 30s, but I swear that man will never believe that I am a capable adult. I think he was probably stressed that I was going hiking alone. Except that I wasn’t alone. I had the best hiking buddy a girl could ask for:

2016-05-28 09.33.30.jpg

We didn’t exactly get lost. But we did spend a lot of time backtracking. I was trying to find the lookout and it was probably at least 25 minutes into our hike (and two turnarounds) before we found this sign…which was actually really close to where we had entered the trail. Oops. But wow what a view! There’s a reason upstate NY is my happy place!

2016-05-28 09.50.03.jpg

Once we finished our hike, I couldn’t help but settle back into my usual lake routine. Because honestly? This is one routine that doesn’t need any maintenance.

2016-05-28 11.33.22.jpg

What are you doing to shake up your routine this weekend? I’d love to hear about it and I’d love more ideas for my quest to stray from my norm!

Leave a Reply

